Art on the Silo

Münster's Bull Is Glowing in Fresh Colours

The bull on AGRAVIS Raiffeisen AG's silo towers has become an emblem of Münster. The work of art is now shining in new splendour.

Since 2003, the image created by the Münster artist, Pellegrino Ritter, has been visible, from the B 51 bypass and from the canal, in large format on the approximately 1,400 square metre surface of the silo towers. After what was now eight years in all weathers, the motif had faded. In a spectacular action in October 2011, three industrial climbers replaced the banners on which the image is printed.

It is neither dull nor boring, but modern, exciting and multifaceted - AGRAVIS Raiffeisen AG would like to convey a positive image of industry in Münster to the outside world and has sent a clear signal in Industrieweg: the bull on the silo towers is glowing in fresh colours. In addition, a graffito in XXL format decorates the facade of the company headquarters with the image motif of the industry campaign.

The idea

Industry and art in harmony - creating dialogue between producers and consumers of food

The colourful motif was first installed on the grey silo towers of AGRAVIS Raiffeisen AG in Münster in 2003, in order to create a dialogue between producers and consumers of food and to promote mutual understanding. Even then, the campaign met with a very positive response. It is no longer possible to imagine Münster without the bull and the motif continues to be a very good fit for AGRAVIS. A fresh coat of paint was necessary, however.

This fresh coat of paint is also important for the image of Münster's industry, so that it is not pushed into the background as an economic factor in the city. Industry secures value creation and jobs in the region. The aim is to make this commitment much more transparent to the general public.

Industry and promotion of up-and-coming talent are closely linked. In order for a company to recruit up-and-coming talent, a good image is helpful. Promotion of up-and-coming talent is also an important part of corporate strategy at AGRAVIS. The company secures jobs in the region and is also very committed in the area of training. Every year, AGRAVIS seeks interested and motivated young people who would like to do their training in the company. Qualified skilled workers are also offered attractive jobs. It is therefore important to make AGRAVIS and its area of activity better known to the general public - among other things, with colourful and highly visible campaigns.

The realization

Pellegrino Ritter
The Münster artist Pellegrino Ritter, photo: Erik Hinz,

The Münster artist, Pellegrino Ritter, was recruited, at that time, for the task of providing a link between the silo towers and art.

Since 2003, the image created by the Münster artist, Pellegrino Ritter - with an original size of 50 x 120 centimetres - has been visible in large format on the approximately 1,400 square metre surface of the silo towers. In October 2011, the banners on which the image is printed were replaced.

The replacement of the banners attracted a lot of attention - it took three industrial climbers several days in all weathers to replace the ten motif webs (7 x 21 metres in size). Producing the large webs in digital print was also a challenge, which was professionally implemented by the Münster company, Werbetechnik Bungert.

At that time, Pellegrino designed the image of a bull, which, in his portrayal, was to be reminiscent of cave painting in early days. The symbolic imagery illustrates the notion that primitive peoples have of simultaneously showing respect to the hunted and used animal. In memory of these old customs, Pellegrino's bull is meant to symbolize man's original oneness with nature.

The artist himself formulates it like this:
"In my concept, I am concerned with reflection on the connection between man and animal, agriculture and nutrition. The bull, for me, symbolizes original force and oneness with nature."

Pellegrino has designed the image of the bull as a colourful collage. A collage in art is a popular method of linking fragments and quotations from the past to the present.

Kunst am Silo

Münsters Stier leuchtet in frischen Farben

Der Stier an den Silotürmen der AGRAVIS Raiffeisen AG ist zu einem Wahrzeichen Münsters geworden. Jetzt strahlt das Kunstwerk wieder in neuem Glanz.

Seit 2003 ist das Bild des Münsteraner Künstlers Pellegrino Ritter im Großformat auf der rund 1.400 Quadratmeter großen Fläche der Silotürme von der Umgehungsstraße B 51 und vom Kanal aus zu sehen. Nach mittlerweile acht Jahren in Wind und Wetter war das Motiv ausgeblichen. In einer spektakulären Aktion tauschen im Oktober 2011 drei Industriekletterer die Banner, auf denen das Bild gedruckt ist, aus.

Weder trist noch langweilig, sondern modern, spannend und vielfältig - die AGRAVIS Raiffeisen AG möchte ein positives Image der Industrie in Münster nach außen tragen und hat dazu am Industrieweg ein deutliches Zeichen gesetzt: Der Stier an den Silotürmen leuchtet in frischen Farben. Darüber hinaus ziert ein Graffiti im XXL-Format mit dem Imagemotiv der Industrie-Kampagne die Fassade an der Unternehmenszentrale.


Die Idee

Industrie und Kunst im Einklang - Dialog zwischen Erzeugern und Verbrauchern von Lebensmitteln schaffen

Im Jahr 2003 wurde das farbenfrohe Motiv erstmalig an den grauen Silotürmen der AGRAVIS Raiffeisen AG in Münster angebracht, um den Dialog zwischen Erzeugern und Verbrauchern von Lebensmitteln zu schaffen und für gegenseitiges Verständnis zu werben. Schon damals ist die Aktion auf viel positive Resonanz gestoßen. Der Stier ist aus Münster nicht mehr wegzudenken und nach wie vor passt das Motiv sehr gut zur AGRAVIS. Allerdings war ein frischer Anstrich nötig.

Dieser frische Anstrich ist auch für das Image der Münsteraner Industrie wichtig, um als wirtschaftlicher Faktor der Stadt nicht in den Hintergrund zu geraten. Industrie sichert Wertschöpfung und Arbeitsplätze in der Region. Dieses Engagement soll für die Bevölkerung viel transparenter gemacht werden.

Industrie und Nachwuchsförderung liegen eng beieinander. Um Nachwuchs für ein Unternehmen zu gewinnen, ist ein gutes Image hilfreich. So ist die Nachwuchsförderung auch wichtiger Bestandteil der Unternehmensstrategie bei der AGRAVIS. Das Unternehmen sichert Arbeitsplätze in der Region und ist auch beim Thema Ausbildung sehr engagiert. Jedes Jahr werden interessierte und motivierte junge Menschen gesucht, die ihre Ausbildung im Unternehmen machen möchte. Auch qualifizierten Fachkräften werden attraktive Arbeitsplätze geboten. Deshalb ist es wichtig, die AGRAVIS und ihren Tätigkeitsbereich in der Öffentlichkeit bekannter zu machen - unter anderem mit farbenfrohen und gut sichtbaren Aktionen.

Die Verwirklichung

Pellegrino Ritter
Der Münsteraner Künstler Pellegrino Ritter Foto: Erik Hinz, www.hinz-foto.de

Der Münsteraner Künstler Pellegrino Ritter wurde seinerzeit für die Aufgabe gewonnen, die Silotürme mit Kunst zu verbinden.

Seit 2003 ist das Bild des Münsteraner Künstlers Pellegrino Ritter - ursprünglich 50 mal 120 Zentimeter groß - in Großformat auf der rund 1.400 Quadratmeter großen Fläche der Silotürme zu sehen. Im Oktober 2011 wurden die Banner, auf denen das Bild gedruckt ist, ausgetauscht.

Der Austausch der Banner sorgte für viel Aufmerksamkeit - drei Industriekletterer waren mehrere Tage lang bei Wind und Wetter aktiv, um die zehn Motivbahnen à sieben mal 21 Meter auszuwechseln. Auch die Herstellung der großen Bahnen im Digitaldruck war eine Herausforderung, die vom Münsteraner Unternehmen Werbetechnik Bungert professionell umgesetzt wurde.

Pellegrino entwarf seinerzeit das Bild eines Stieres, das in seiner Darstellungsweise an die frühzeitliche Höhlenmalerei erinnern soll. Die symbolhafte Bildsprache illustriert die Vorstellung der Naturvölker, dem Tier, das man jagte und nutzte, zugleich Respekt zu zollen. In Erinnerung an diese alten Bräuche soll Pellegrinos Stier die ursprüngliche Einheit des Menschen mit der Natur versinnbildlichen.

Der Künstler selbst formuliert es so:
"In meinem Konzept geht es mir um die Besinnung auf die Verbindung von Mensch und Tier, von Landwirtschaft und Ernährung. Der Stier symbolisiert für mich ursprüngliche Kraft und Naturverbundenheit."

Pellegrino hat das Bild des Stieres als farbenfrohe Collage gestaltet. Die Collage ist in der Kunst ein beliebtes Verfahren, um Fragmente und Zitate aus der Vergangenheit mit der Gegenwart zu verknüpfen.