Targeted measures against udder illnesses

Prevent increasing cell numbers for healthy cows and the best milk

Udder illnesses weaken dairy cows, lower the milk production and cause financial losses for farmers. That is why targeted preventive measures and immediate treatment in case of diseases are crucial. Products from Desintec have proven reliable in dairy farming, for animals with healthy udders and a well-functioning operation.

Desintec Double Sprint
Desintec MH Double Sprint D is a two-component dip with biocide registration on a chlorine dioxide base.

The teat dipping medium, Desintec MH Double Sprint D with a chlorine dioxide basis, has an outstanding effect against bacterial agents, such as S. aureus, S. agalactiae, S. dysgalaactiae, S. uberis and E. Coli.

Problem of increased cell counts

High levels of somatic cells in milk cause significant problems for dairy farms. In North Rhine-Westphalia, for example, the average cell numbers for milk delivered in previous years sat between 220,000 and 240,000. In most federal states, only about 15 per cent of all the businesses fall below the target value of 100,000 cells.

Financial losses

Increased cell counts of 225,000 cells are the cause of one kg of milk loss per cow per day. Every year, udder illnesses are the cause of milk loss, reduction in quality, high wastage rates and increased veterinary costs, adding to the financial losses of the farmers. Higher workloads caused by longer milking times also have to be factored in. Udder illnesses are still the main reason for premature withdrawal of cows from the herd.

Overview of cell contents

The total milk's cell count provides a significant overview of an individual cow's udder health. As is known, the cell count for udder-healthy animals amounts to about 100,000 cells per millilitre of milk. The cell count is a standard checked at every milk yield control. This is already a reason why no farmer should forego the monthly milk yield control.

Causes for pathogens

Mastitis pathogens can, above all, get into the udder and cause an infection if the adverse environmental influences, such as poor milking hygiene, a defective milking facility, insufficient feeding or defective keeping play a role. For mastitis pathogens, we differentiate between cow-associated (S. aureus, S. dysgalactiae, S. galactiae) and environmental-associated (E. coli, S. uberis).

Intensive milking hygiene

The infected udder quarter acts as a considerable source of infection in the transfer of cow-associated pathogens. These mastitis pathogens can spread quickly via hands, udder towels and milking equipment from cow to cow. You can only interrupt the spreading with intense milking hygiene. Required hygiene measures include wearing milking gloves, correct pre-milking, the use of pre-dipping substances (e.g. Alcide Pregold), disposable towels for pre-cleaning of udders, carrying out a milking equipment interval disinfection (particularly for problem cows), formation of a mastitis group who are milked last and dipping the teats after milking.

Udder: Strengthen defence mechanisms

For environmental-associated pathogens, it is applicable to strengthen the defence mechanism of the udder and eliminate the source of infection. Environmental factors, such as keeping conditions, feeding and milking hygiene must be optimised. Bacteria multiply more easily in warm and damp conditions. A poor, damp, warm stable climate and unhygienic stalls management increase the germ pressure and over-strain the natural defence system of the udder. From experience, environmental pathogens are easier to get under control if you add a high-alkaline bedding powder such as Desintec Floorcal pH 12 to the bedding (straw or sawdust).

Lime-straw mixture for clean udders

In comparison to conventional lime-washes, particularly characteristic are the high pH value of 12 and the very quick drying out of the bedding. Scientific investigations show that infectious environmental pathogens cannot multiply or develop easily with a long-sustained high pH value over 9 in the bedding. Further advantages are the good skin tolerance and easy handling. The hygiene chalk can either be used in conjunction with other bedding materials such as straw or sawdust in stalls or just sprinkled on in pure form. Additional advantages of the lime-straw mixture are cleaner udders, alongside better comfort.

Two-component dipping medium

After milking, the risk of pathogen entry is at its greatest as the teat canal is open for approx. 30 to 60 minutes. In this timeframe, pathogens can enter the udder unhindered with a high pathogen pressure and can then cause infection. To prevent the transfer of udder pathogens, the implementation of the new two-component dipping medium Desintec MH Double Sprint with a chlorine dioxide base is recommended. The active ingredient chlorine dioxide has been used for some years with success in the high-performance operation in the USA and Canada.

The two components are mixed with the same ratio of 1:1 in a dipping bucket. Due to the high oxidation strength, the active ingredient chlorine dioxide guarantees a very quick effectiveness. The quick effect of Desintec MH Double Sprint has been proven against a number of germs, including E. coli and S. aureus. Skin-nurturing components from the human domain also ensure a high teat compatibility. The two-component product is registered as a biocidal product and can be dipped or sprayed. All criteria of the QM check are fulfilled.

Interim disinfection of milking equipment

A further measure for problematic operations with cow-associated pathogens (S. aureus, S. dysgalactiae and S. galactiae) is the interim disinfection of the milking equipment. It is becoming ever more important, since the number of milked cows per milking equipment is increasing in growing operational units. The risk of germ transfer from cow to cow via the milking equipment increases correspondingly. Rinsing out the milking equipment with only water does not provide a sufficient reduction in germs, according to numerous investigation results. The active ingredient peracetic acid has been used in recent years for interim disinfection of milking equipment. Peracetic acid distinguishes itself through its quick and broad effect, particularly against cow-associated pathogens. Since peracetic acid disintegrates when used in water, vinegar and oxygen, it also grants good biological degradability. A high effectiveness for interval disinfection of milking equipment is ensured with the product Desintec MelkDes 15 with a peracetic acid base.

Use biocides carefully. Always read the label and product information before use.

Bei Eutererkrankungen gezielt handeln

Steigende Zellzahlen verhindern, für gesunde Kühe und beste Milch

Eutererkrankungen schwächen Milchkühe, führen zu Milchverlusten und finanziellen Einbußen für den Landwirt. Wichtig ist es darum, gezielt vorzubeugen und bei Erkrankungen umgehend zu handeln. Produkte von Desintec haben sich in der Milchviehhaltung bestens bewährt, für eutergesunde Tiere und einen funktionierenden Betrieb.

Desintec Double Sprint
Desintec MH Double Sprint D ist ein Zwei-Komponentendippmittel mit Biozidanmeldung auf Basis von Chlordioxid.

Das Zitzendippmittel Desintec MH Double Sprint D auf Basis von Chlordioxid wirkt hervorragend gegen bakterielle Erreger wie S. aureus, S. agalactiae, S. dysgalaactiae, S. uberis oder E. Coli.

Problem erhöhter Zellzahlen

Hohe Gehalte an somatischen Zellen in der Milch bereiten Milchviehbetrieben erhebliche Probleme. In Nordrhein-Westfalen beispielsweise lagen in den vergangenen Jahren die Durchschnittszellzahlen für abgelieferte Milch zwischen 220.000 und 240.000 Zellen. Unter dem Zielwert von 100.000 Zellen liegen in den meisten Bundesländern nur rund 15 Prozent der Gesamtbetriebe.

Finanzielle Einbußen

Erhöhte Zellzahlen von 225.000 Zellen haben Milchverluste von einem Kilogramm pro Kuh und Tag zur Folge. Jedes Jahr führen Milchverluste durch Eutererkrankungen, Qualitätsminderungen, hohe Abgangsraten und erhöhte Tierarztkosten zu finanziellen Einbußen für die Landwirte. Einzurechnen sind auch höhere Arbeitsbelastungen wegen längerer Melkzeiten. Eutererkrankungen sind nach wie vor ein Hauptgrund für frühzeitiges Ausscheiden der Kühe aus der Herde.

Überblick über Zellgehalt

Einen wesentlichen Überblick über die Eutergesundheit von Einzelkühen gibt der Zellgehalt des Gesamtgemelkes. Der Zellgehalt eutergesunder Tiere schwankt bekanntermaßen um die 100.000 Zellen pro Milliliter Milch. Überprüft wird der Zellgehalt standardmäßig bei jeder Milchleistungskontrolle. Allein schon darum sollte kein Landwirt auf die monatliche Milchleistungskontrolle verzichten.

Ursachen für Erreger

Mastitiserreger können vor allem dann ins Euter gelangen und eine Entzündung auslösen, wenn nachteilige Umwelteinflüsse wie eine mangelhafte Melkhygiene, eine fehlerhafte Melkanlage, eine unzureichende Fütterung oder Haltungsmängel eine Rolle spielen. Bei Mastitiserregern wird zwischen kuhassoziierten Erregern (S. aureus, S. dysgalactiae, S. galactiae) und umweltassoziierten Erregern (E. coli, S. uberis) unterschieden.

Intensive Melkhygiene

Eine wesentliche Infektionsquelle bei der Übertragung von kuhassoziierten Erregern ist das infizierte Euterviertel. Diese Mastitiserreger können sich schnell über Hände, Eutertücher und Melkzeuge von Kuh zu Kuh verbreiten. Eine Unterbrechung der Übertragungswege ist nur durch intensive Melkhygiene zu erreichen. Zu den erforderlichen Hygienemaßnahmen gehören das Tragen von Melkhandschuhen, das richtige Vormelken, die Verwendung von Prä-Dippmitteln (z.B. Alcide Pregold) und Einmaltüchern zur Eutervorreinigung, das Durchführen einer Melkzeug-Zwischendesinfektion (besonders bei Problemkühen), die Bildung einer Mastitisgruppe, die zuletzt gemolken wird, und das Dippen der Zitzen nach dem Melken.

Euter: Abwehrmechanismen stärken

Bei den umweltassoziierten Erregern gilt es, die Abwehrmechanismen des Euters zu stärken und die Infektionsquellen zu beseitigen. Umweltfaktoren wie Haltungsbedingungen, Fütterung und Melkhygiene müssen optimiert werden. Bakterien vermehren sich leichter in feuchtwarmer Umgebung. Ein mangelhaftes, feucht warmes Stallklima und ein unhygienisches Liegeboxenmanagement erhöhen den Keimdruck und überfordern das natürliche Abwehrsystem des Euters. Aus Erfahrung sind Umwelterreger besser in den Griff zu bekommen, wenn der Einstreu (Stroh oder Sägemehl) hochalkalische Einstreupulver wie Desintec Floorcal pH 12 zugesetzt werden.

Kalk-Strohgemische für saubere Euter

Charakteristisch gegenüber herkömmlichen Kalken sind besonders der hohe pH-Wert von 12 und das sehr schnelle Austrocknen der Einstreu. Wissenschaftliche Untersuchungen belegen, dass sich infektiöse Umwelterreger bei einem lang anhaltenden hohen pH-Wert über 9 in der Einstreu nicht mehr ungestört vermehren und entwickeln können. Weitere Vorteile sind die gute Hautverträglichkeit und die einfache Handhabung. In Liegeboxen kann der Hygienekalk entweder in Verbindung mit anderen Einstreumaterialien wie Stroh oder Sägemehl eingesetzt oder auch pur nachgestreut werden. Zusätzliche Pluspunkte von Kalk-Strohgemischen sind neben besserem Komfort auch saubere Euter.

Zweikomponenten-Dippmittel

Nach dem Melken ist das Risiko des Erregereintrags in das Euter am größten, da der Strichkanal für etwa 30 bis 60 Minuten geöffnet ist. In diesem Zeitrahmen können Erreger bei hohem Erregerdruck ungehindert in das Euter gelangen und dort eine Infektion verursachen. Um eine Übertragung von Eutererregern zu verhindern, empfiehlt sich der Einsatz des Zweikomponenten-Dippmittels Desintec MH Double Sprint, auf Basis von Chlordioxid. Der Wirkstoff Chlordioxid wird bereits seit Jahren erfolgreich in den Hochleistungsbetrieben in den USA und Kanada eingesetzt.

Die zwei Komponenten werden in gleichem Verhältnis 1:1 im Dippbecher gemischt. Durch seine Oxidationskraft garantiert der Wirkstoff Chlordioxid eine sehr schnelle Wirksamkeit. Nachgewiesen ist die schnelle Wirkung von Desintec MH Double Sprint gegen eine Vielzahl von Keimen, einschließlich E. coli und S. aureus. Hautpflegende Bestandteile aus dem Humanbereich sorgen zudem für eine hohe Verträglichkeit an den Zitzen. Das Zweikomponenten-Produkt ist als Biozidprodukt registriert und kann gedippt und gesprüht werden. Alle Kriterien der QM-Prüfung werden erfüllt.

Zwischendesinfektion von Melkzeugen

Eine weitere Maßnahme für Problembetriebe mit kuhassoziierten Erregern (S. aureus, S. dysgalactiae und S. galactiae) ist die Zwischendesinfektion der Melkzeuge. Sie wird darum zunehmend wichtiger, weil bei wachsenden Betriebseinheiten die Anzahl der gemolkenen Kühe pro Melkzeug größer wird. Entsprechend ist das Risiko einer Keimübertragung von Kuh zu Kuh über das Melkzeug deutlich erhöht. Das Ausspülen der Melkzeuge nur mit Wasser bewirkt keine ausreichende Keimreduzierung, das zeigen Untersuchungen. Zur optimalen Zwischendesinfektion hat sich in den vergangenen Jahren der Wirkstoff Peressigsäure durchgesetzt. Peressigsäure zeichnet sich durch eine rasche und breite Wirkung gerade gegen kuhassoziierte Erreger aus. Da Peressigsäure bei ihrer Anwendung in Wasser, Essigsäure und Sauerstoff zerfällt, ist außerdem eine gute biologische Abbaubarkeit gegeben. Eine hohe Wirksamkeit bei der Zwischendesinfektion der Melkzeuge ist mit dem Produkt Desintec MelkDes 15 auf Basis von Peressigsäure sichergestellt.

Biozide vorsichtig verwenden. Vor Gebrauch stets Kennzeichnung und Produktinformationen lesen.

Standortdaten ändern

Bestimmen Sie hier Ihren Standort. Tragen Sie hierfür lediglich Ihre PLZ sowie die Straße ein.