Produce high-quality hay

Improve quality, reduce losses: with RaicoSil Hay

Hay needs sunny and dry weather. However, stable storage in good weather is increasingly rare. This is why farmers often rely on preservation mediums for hay harvesting. Not all products can be used easily, however. RaicoSil Hay offers an environmentally friendly and economical alternative.

Preservation

Producing quality hay – it’s not so simple

Hay harvesting has changed a lot in the last few years. Big bales have replaced small bales and loose storage. The composition of the types and varieties on the pastures is also different now. Varieties with high sugar content, high energy density, more yield and greater foliar mass dominate in many areas. These varieties involve a different drying process than the comparatively older varieties. Although they have more leaf mass (and the leaves dry more quickly), they also have higher sugar contents that make drying more difficult. Sugar influences the aw value by binding water. And removing the biochemically bonded water in the drying process is always difficult. The harvesting window has also become shorter. Quality hay needs stable storage in good weather – and this is increasingly rare. Furthermore, the hay doesn’t always dry evenly on the field during the traditional ground drying. High-density storage and unstable weather in particular make the process more difficult.

The problem of residual moisture

Usually the knots are the areas that contain residual moisture. After the harvest, the residual moisture seeps back into the stems and leaves. And because hay is usually pressed into square bales, it can barely escape. This in turn creates fertile ground for micro-organisms, especially mould. The result is a degradation of nutrients and reductions in quality combined with a lower hygiene status. If the drying doesn’t proceed favourably, the losses of easily digestible nutrients increase, as does the risk of mould. Mould spores irritate the animals’ respiratory tracts and can result in health problems.

Hay wheel of fortune RaicoSil Hay
Click to enlarge

Traditional hay preservation

To generate quality hay, preservation methods are indispensable by now. Preservation mediums based on propionic acid can be applied, for example. They already ensure quality with dry matter contents of 75 to 80 per cent. However, the use of acidic products can be problematic, for example with corrosions on the pick-up equipment, high amounts of effort or transport limitations. Special dispensing equipment may also be required.

As an alternative: RaicoSil Hay

RaicoSil Hay is the first preservation medium for moist hay that belongs to the group of neutral salts. Its ingredients are the salts potassium sorbate, sodium benzoate and sodium propionate. Before application, RaicoSil Hay is dissolved in water and then sprayed on in liquid form. Since hay harvesting is possible in a safe and low-loss manner starting at 75 per cent dry matter with the addition of RaicoSil Hay, it is possible to harvest it about two days earlier. This means: fewer losses due to crumbling and lower nutrient losses. The bales don’t heat up during storage and the dreaded Maillard reaction is eliminated. The risk of residual moisture is also stopped.

Benefits of RaicoSil Hay

  • Ensuring quality and nutrient density
  • Improved hygiene status
  • Fewer losses in the field and in storage
  • Avoidance of unwanted spoiling processes
  • Reduction of the harvest window by at least two days

And another benefit

In case of temporary bad weather, the plants can also be harvested as haylage – RaicoSil Hay ensures the quality here as well. It is possible to select between moist hay and haylage. Shorter harvest windows are more convenient since the weather risk becomes more predictable.

We have compiled all information in compact form in our Hay guide .

Heu hochwertig erzeugen

Qualität verbessern, Verluste verringern: mit RaicoSil Hay

Heu braucht sonniges und trockenes Wetter. Stabile Schönwetterlagen aber sind zunehmend selten. Bei der Heuwerbung greifen Landwirten darum häufiger zu Konservierungsmitteln. Doch nicht alle Produkte sind problemlos einsetzbar. Eine umweltfreundliche und wirtschaftliche Alternative bietet RaicoSil Hay.

pboxx-pixelboxx-85739

Qualitätsheu erzeugen – gar nicht so einfach

Die Heuwerbung hat sich in den vergangenen Jahren stark verändert. Großballen haben kleine Ballen bzw. die lose Lagerung abgelöst. Auch Arten- und Sorten auf den Wiesen setzen sich inzwischen anders zusammen. Auf vielen Flächen dominieren Sorten mit höheren Zuckergehalten, höheren Energiedichten, mehr Ertrag und mehr Blattmasse. Solche Sorten zeigen einen anderen Trocknungsverlauf als vergleichsweise ältere Sorten. Zwar haben sie mehr Blattmasse (und Blätter trocknen schneller), aber auch höhere Zuckergehalte, die das Trocknen erschweren. Zucker nämlich beeinflusst den aw-Wert, indem er Wasser bindet. Und das biochemisch gebundene Wasser im Trocknungsprozess entziehen ist immer schwierig. Zudem hat sich das Erntefenster weiter verkürzt. Qualitätsheu braucht stabile Schönwetterlagen – und diese sind zunehmend seltener. Außerdem trocknet das Heu auf dem Feld bei klassischer Bodentrocknung nicht immer gleichmäßig durch. Vor allem hoher Massebelag und instabile Witterung erschweren den Prozess.

Das Problem der Restfeuchte

Häufig sind es die Knoten, die noch Restfeuchte enthalten. Nach der Ernte wandert die Restfeuchte zurück in Stängel und Blätter. Und weil Heu zumeist in Quaderballen gepresst wird, kann sie kaum entweichen. Das wiederum schafft Nährböden für Mikroorganismen, insbesondere Schimmelpilze. Die Folgen sind Nährstoffabbau und Qualitätseinbußen, verbunden mit einer Verschlechterung des Hygienestatus. Verläuft die Trocknung ungünstig, steigen die Verluste an leicht verdaulichen Nährstoffen und das Risiko einer Verpilzung. Schimmelpilzsporen reizen die Atemwege von Tieren, gesundheitliche Probleme können die Folge sein.

pboxx-pixelboxx-85748
Zum Vergrößern klicken

Klassische Heukonservierung

Um Qualitätsheu zu erzeugen, sind Konservierungsverfahren inzwischen unverzichtbar. Anwendung finden beispielsweise Konservierungsmittel auf der Basis von Propionsäure. Sie sichern die Qualität bereits bei TS-Gehalten von 75 bis 80 Prozent. Der Einsatz säurehaltiger Produkte aber kann Probleme mit sich bringen, beispielsweise Korrosionen an der Bergetechnik, hohe Aufwandmengen oder Transportbeschränkungen. Erforderlich sein kann auch eine speziell Dosiertechnik.

Als Alternative: RaicoSil Hay

RaicoSil Hay ist das erste Konservierungsmittel für Feuchtheu, das zur Gruppe der Neutralsalze gehört. Als Wirkstoffe enthält es die Salze Kaliumsorbat, Natriumbenzoat und Natriumpropionat. RaicoSil Hay wird vor dem Ausbringen in Wasser gelöst und dann flüssig aufgesprüht. Da die Heuwerbung bereits ab 75 Prozent TS mit Zusatz von RaicoSil Hay sicher und verlustarm möglich ist, kann etwa zwei Tage früher eingefahren werden. Das bedeutet: weniger Bröckelverluste und geringere Nährstoffverluste. Beim Einlagern erwärmen sich die Ballen nicht und die gefürchtete Maillard-Reaktion bleibt aus. Ausgeschaltet wird auch das Risiko von Restfeuchte.

Vorteile von RaicoSil Hay

  • Sicherung von Qualität und Nährstoffdichte
  • Verbesserter Hygienestatus
  • Weniger Verluste auf dem Feld und im Lager
  • Vermeidung unerwünschter Verderbprozesse
  • Verkürzung Erntefenster um mind. zwei Tage

Und noch ein Vorteil

Bei kurzfristigem Schlechtwetter kann das Erntegut auch als Heulage geerntet werden – auch hier sichert RaicoSil Hay die Qualität. Entschieden kann wahlweise zwischen Feuchtheu und Heulage. Kleinere Erntefenster sind besser nutzbar, das Witterungsrisiko wird kalkulierbarer.

In unserem Wegweiser Heu haben wir alle Informationen kompakt zusammengefasst.

Standortdaten ändern

Bestimmen Sie hier Ihren Standort. Tragen Sie hierfür lediglich Ihre PLZ sowie die Straße ein.