Grassland management

Tips on successful grassland management

Stable sward, a high-yield harvest and high-quality staple feed which livestock find highly palatable: you should take the following tips from AGRAVIS if you wish to achieve such qualities in your grassland.

Start grassland care immediately

If grassland areas may still look good at first glance after a mild winter, but on closer look, many crops are overgrown with a matted, clotted sward and a high proportion of wheatgrass and annual meadow grass. If the weather conditions allow, grassland care should be started immediately to counteract quality losses if machines can be driven onto the grassland.

Check list for grassland

✔ Raking/levelling
✔ Rolling
✔ Overseeding/reseeding
✔ Crop protection
✔ Fertilisation

In the case of heavily overgrown crops, it is also advisable to maintain grassland with a first cut and remove the dead material before vegetation starts.

Annual overseeding

Alongside rolling, raking, levelling, re-mowing and crop protection, overseeding plays a special role in regular care. Grassland areas need to be overseeded annually to maintain a high-performance crop comprising more than 80 per cent high-quality grasses. Crops must be enhanced at regular intervals to cover patches and suppress weeds, thus further securing yield and quality. Continuity is crucial in this process. Those who only act when imperfections and performance losses appear will be too late. Anyone who left things to chance or had no choice but to abandon grassland last year is forced to make a move this year.

Download PDF “Nachsaat - eine Frage des Timings” (Overseeding – a question of timing)

Tips on overseeding

It is advisable to overseed or reseed, depending on the condition (proportion of high-quality grasses and gaps). During overseeding, 5 to 10 kilograms of seed are sown per hectare in the spring and, if possible, in the autumn on the grassland area using direct sowing or seed drilling methods. When selecting the grass mix, attention should be paid not only to the mix quality but also to its suitability for the location and what the grass will be used for.

Objective: more extensive harvest window

Plantinum mixes are suitable for overseeding. They are based on the energy-rich, rust-resistant varieties of German rye grass which the North German Chambers of Agriculture have recommended. Using mid and late rye grass varieties ensures uniform maturity in the crop and a slower deterioration in energy densities. The result is a significantly more extensive harvest window. . Plantinum mixes use German rye grasses suited to boglands only. Their durability, hardiness and regeneration properties ensure high yield potential, even in difficult locations. The portfolio is complemented with high-grade varieties of timothy grass, common meadow grass and other mixing partners.

Overseeding or reseeding?

It is advisable to overseed or reseed, depending on the proportion of high-quality grasses and extent of patches. The Plantinum Intensiv and Plantinum Universal are highly recommended for overseeding.

If the sward is enhanced with 5 to 10 kilograms of Plantinum in an overseeding process every year, the energy content in grass silage can be increased by 0.3 MJ NEL for the long term with ongoing maintenance. Thanks to the improved quality and digestibility of silage, feed intake also increases by 0.3 to 0.5 kilograms of dry matter. As a result, it is possible to produce an additional output of 387 litres per cow and lactation (305 days). An extra 9,675 euros milk money (0.25 euros) can be earned with a herd of 100 dairy cows.

Yield and quality in grassland management

When selecting the grass mix, the suitability of the location and end use of the mixes should also be taken into account alongside certification. A seed mix which appeals to buyers due to an attractive price usually means low seed quality, thus actually proving to be too expensive for sowing in terms of useful life and performance.

Suitability for boglands

  • Grasses in a variety trial are subjected to at least three years of typical practical use at bogland locations to test their suitability for bogland use.
  • Less than 10 per cent of the tested varieties are granted the “M” for bogland suitability.
  • Distinguishing characteristics include endurance performance, superior regeneration capacity and good hardiness.

What challenges do bogland locations present?

1. Limited phosphorus and potassium content with a low nutrient storage capacity
2. Soils frozen solid (roots break off)
3. Oxygen deficiency in rhizosphere
4. Late warming and extreme temperature differences at ground level, especially fluctuations between day and night, and late frosts in the spring or early frosts in the autumn
5. Micro-climate (optimal conditions for fusarium species and other fungal diseases)

The robust varieties are also able to put their positive properties to good use on mineral soils and help to establish stability of yield.

Overseeding or replanting?

Overseeding or replanting?

Grünlandmanagement

Tipps für ein erfolgreiches Grünlandmanagement

Eine stabile Grasnarbe, eine ertragreiche Ernte und gleichzeitig qualitativ hochwertiges Grundfutter, das den Nutztieren gut schmeckt: Wenn Sie diese Ziele beim Grünlandanbau erreichen möchte, sollten Sie folgende Tipps der AGRAVIS beherzigen.

Unverzüglich mit Grünlandpflege beginnen

Wenn Grünlandflächen aufgrund eines milden Winters vielerorts auf den ersten Blick noch gut aussehen, zeigen sich auf den zweiten Blick jedoch viele Bestände überwachsen mit verfilzter und verklebter Narbe und einem hohen Quecken- und Jährige Rispenanteil. Sofern die Witterung es erlaubt, sollte daher bei Befahrbarkeit unverzüglich mit der Grünlandpflege begonnen werden, um Qualitätseinbußen entgegen zu wirken.

Checkliste für das Grünland

✔ Striegeln/Schleppen
✔ Walzen
✔ Nachsaat/ Neuansaat
✔ Pflanzenschutz
✔ Düngung

Bei stark überwachsenen Beständen empfiehlt es sich außerdem, vor Vegetationsbeginn einen Pflegeschnitt vorzunehmen und das abgestorbene Material abzufahren.

Jährliche Nachsaat

Zur regelmäßigen Pflege gehört neben dem Walzen, Striegeln/Schleppen, der Nachmahd und dem Pflanzenschutz insbesondere die Nachsaat. Um einen leistungsstarken Bestand mit einem Anteil von mehr als 80 Prozent hochwertigen Gräsern zu erhalten, müssen die Grünlandflächen jährlich nachgesät werden. Die Bestände müssen im regelmäßigen Abstand aufgebessert werden, um Lücken zu schließen, Ungräser und Unkräuter zu unterdrücken und so Ertrag und Qualität weiter zu sichern. Entscheidend ist hierbei die Kontinuität. Wer erst handelt, wenn Fehlstellen und Leistungseinbußen zu verzeichnen sind, handelt zu spät. Wer letztes Jahr ausgesetzt hat bzw. aussetzen musste, ist dieses Jahr im Zugzwang.

Download PDF "Nachsaat - eine Frage des Timings"

Tipps zur Nachsaat

Abhängig vom Zustand (Anteil hochwertiger Gräser und Lücken) empfiehlt sich eine Nachsaat bzw. Neuansaat. Bei der Nachsaat werden in Form einer Durchsaat bzw. Direktsaat 5 bis 10 Kilogramm/Hektar Saatgut im Frühjahr und nach Möglichkeit zusätzlich im Herbst auf der Grünlandfläche ausgebracht. Bei der Auswahl der Gräsermischung sollte neben der Qualität auf die Standorteignung und die Nutzungsrichtung der Mischungen geachtet werden.

Ziel: breiteres Erntefenster

Für eine Nachsaat bieten sich die Plantinum-Mischungen an. Sie basieren auf energiereichen und rostresistenten Sorten des Deutschen Weidelgrases, die von den norddeutschen Landwirtschaftskammern empfohlen wurden. Die Verwendung von mittleren und späten Weidelgräsern führt zu einer gleichmäßigen Abreife des Bestandes und zu einem langsameren Abfall der Energiedichten – die Folge ist ein deutlich breiteres Erntefenster. In den Plantinum-Mischungen werden ausschließlich moorgeeignete Deutsche Weidelgräser eingesetzt, deren Robustheit, Winterhärte und Regenerationsvermögen das hohe Ertragspotential auch auf schwierigen Standortverhältnissen absichern. Das Portfolio wird von futterbaulich hochwertigen Sorten des Wiesenlieschgrases, der Wiesenrispe und weiteren Mischungspartnern vervollständigt.

Nachsaat oder Neuansaat?

Abhängig vom Anteil hochwertiger Gräser und Lückengrad empfiehlt sich eine Nachsaat bzw. Neuansaat. Für die Nachsaat sind insbesondere die Mischungen Plantinum Intensiv und Plantinum Universal zu empfehlen.

Wird eine Grasnarbe jährlich mit 5 bis 10 Kilogramm Plantinum im Übersaatverfahren aufgebessert, kann der Energiegehalt bei anhaltender Bestandespflege langfristig um 0,3 MJ NEL erhöht werden. Durch die verbesserte Qualität und Verdaulichkeit der Silage steigt infolgedessen auch die Futteraufnahme um 0,3 bis 0,5 Kilogramm Trockenmasse. Hierdurch ist eine Mehrleistung von 387 Liter/Kuh und Laktation (305 Tage) möglich. Bei einer Herde von 100 Milchkühen kann ein Plus von 9.675 Euro Milchgeld (0,25 Euro) erzielt werden.

Ertrag und Qualität beim Grünlandmanagement

Bei der Auswahl der Gräsermischung sollte neben der Zertifizierung auf die Standorteignung und Nutzungsrichtung der Mischungen geachtet werden. Eine Saatgutmischung, die durch einen attraktiven Preis zum Kauf verleitet, entspricht in der Regel nur geringer Saatgutqualität und ist auf die Nutzungsdauer und Leistung betrachtet für die Ausbringung noch zu teuer.

Mooreignung

  • Für eine Mooreignung werden die Gräser einer Sortenprüfung mindestens drei Jahre unter praxisüblicher Nutzung auf Moorstandorten unterzogen.
  • Weniger als 10 Prozent der geprüften Sorten erhalten „M“ für Mooreignung.
  • Kennzeichen sind die überragende Ausdauerleistung, ein überdurchschnittliches Regenerationsvermögen und eine gute Winterhärte.

Worin besteht die Herausforderung der Moorstandorte?

1. Limitiertes Phosphor- und Kalium-Angebot bei gleichzeitig geringem Nährstoffspeicherungsvermögen
2. Hochfrierende Böden (Wurzeln reißen ab)
3. Sauerstoffarmut in Rhizosphäre
4. Eine späte Erwärmung und extreme Temperaturunterschiede in Bodennähe (insbesondere Tag-/Nachtschwankungen) sowie Spätfröste im Frühjahr bzw. Frühfröste im Herbst
5. Mikroklima (optimale Bedingungen für Fusarien und andere Pilzerkrankungen)

Diese Robust-Sorten können ihre positiven Eigenschaften auch auf Mineralböden ausspielen und zur Ertragsabsicherung beitragen.

Nachsaat oder Neuanlage?

Nachsaat oder Neuanlage?

Standortdaten ändern

Bestimmen Sie hier Ihren Standort. Tragen Sie hierfür lediglich Ihre PLZ sowie die Straße ein.