Grain marketing

Landea contracts: predictive marketing

When marketing grain and oilseeds, customers most often opt for a futures contract. This not only fixes the desired delivery date but also qualities and all relevant monetary conditions. Such a contract serves to hedge against falling market prices and provide liquidity management.

If forecasts consider that the product price will rise on the market in the future, then commodities remain in the warehouse or premium contracts are concluded.

Landea futures contracts
Click to enlarge.

As with storage, commodities are not sold, but the price difference between the commodities in the warehouse and the commodities regulated by a futures contract for a comparable product – on the NYSE Euronext (MATIF) commodity futures exchange, for example – is contractually fixed as a premium (spot market minus MATIF). The MATIF index acts as a kind of trend monitor and the farmer decides when to fix the final selling price for his stored goods at a later stage while keeping an eye on the MATIF index.

Landea futures contracts
Click to enlarge.

Landea contracts for wheat and rapeseed may be a good alternative to storage or a premium contract in the case of such market expectations for rising prices. The principle of all Landea contracts is based on a combination of selling the physical merchandise with the simultaneous purchase of the same merchandise volume from a reference contract with a preferable long term at the commodity futures exchange. With it, the farmer buys the right (option) and opportunity to resell the low-priced purchase at a higher price when the MATIF has reached an attractive level at a later point in time. The difference here is that the profit is paid to the farmer. The farmer does not need a stock market account, but actually trades on both markets (spot market and stock exchange) from a single point.

Immediate liquidity

The contract price agreed at the cut-off date is obtained after physical delivery (ex harvest, for example) and, consequently, the farmer has immediate liquidity, unlike in the case of storage. The Landea purchase price is not the full MATIF rate but the payable option fee instead, which depends on the contract model. Landea models with minimum price and hedging against falling stock market prices can be selected and cost about as much as a storage fee. Contract types without price protection cost only 3 euros per tonne for wheat and only 5 euros per tonne for rapeseed, irrespective of the chosen maturity – even if, for example, they terminate in April of the following year. The farmer decides when to resell the purchased MATIF quantity within this time period. The difference between sales and purchase levels on the commodity futures exchange is paid out as profit.

Launched around four years ago with just a few Landea contract models, the Landea product line offers a wide range for every market expectation and market situation today. The demand from agriculture has also grown as a result: over the years, agricultural companies have used these marketing concepts in contract sizes ranging from 50 tonnes to several hundred tonnes.

Landea: information in brief

  • With Landea, you focus on buoyant markets and optimise your marketing
  • Landea can be a good, wise alternative to storage
  • Landea option fee available from just 3 euros a tonne
  • You have immediate liquidity once physical delivery is complete
  • A contractual partner for spot markets and stock-market-based contracts
  • Many years' experience, established contract models for security- and/or risk-oriented investors
  • Daily transparency and update – email report on your market values
  • You continue to determine the point in time when you trade
  • You can even actively optimise average price models
  • Landea – easily structured and field-tested in small 50-tonne increments
  • You don’t need a stock market account

Getreidevermarktung

Landea-Kontrakte: Vorausschauende Vermarktung

Bei der Vermarktung von Getreide und Ölsaaten wird am häufigsten ein Terminkontrakt gewählt, der neben dem gewünschten Liefertermin auch Qualitäten sowie alle relevanten monetären Konditionen fixiert. Ein solcher Kontrakt dient der Absicherung gegen fallende Marktpreise und der Liquiditätssteuerung.

Vertritt man die Marktmeinung eines zukünftig steigenden Produktpreises, dann wird die Ware weiter gelagert oder es werden Prämienkontrakte abgeschlossen.

Landea Terminkontrakte
Zum Vergrößern bitte Klicken.

Wie bei der Einlagerung ist die Ware nicht verkauft, sondern der Preisabstand zwischen der Ware im Lager und der Ware eines Terminkontrakts des vergleichbaren Produkts – z.B. an der Warenterminbörse NYSE Euronext (MATIF) – wird als Prämie (KASSA minus MATIF) vertraglich fixiert. Der MATIF-Kurs dient hierbei als eine Art Trendmonitor und der Landwirt entscheidet später unter Beobachtung der MATIF, wann er den finalen Verkaufspreis für seine Lagerware fixiert.

Landea Terminkontrakte
Zum Vergrößern bitte Klicken.

Für die gleiche Markterwartung steigender Preise können Landea-Kontrakte für Weizen und Raps eine gute Alternative zur Einlagerung oder einem Prämienkontrakt sein. Das Prinzip aller Landea-Kontrakte basiert auf einer Kombination aus Verkauf der physischen Ware und gleichzeitigem Kauf einer gleichen Warenmenge eines Referenzkontrakts mit möglichst langer Laufzeit an der Warenterminbörse. Damit kauft man sich das Recht (Option) und die Chance, bei später anziehendem MATIF-Niveau den günstigen Einkauf wieder teurer zu verkaufen. Die Differenz ist der Gewinn, der dem Landwirt nachvergütet wird. Der Landwirt benötigt hierfür kein Börsenkonto, sondern handelt praktisch beide Märkte (KASSA und BÖRSE) aus einer Hand.

Sofortige Liquidität

Nach erfolgter physischer Lieferung (z.B. ex Ernte) erhält man den zum Stichtermin vereinbarten Kontraktpreis und somit, anders als bei der Einlagerung, sofortige Liquidität. Der Kaufpreis der Landea-Menge ist nicht etwa der volle MATIF-Kurs, sondern die je nach Kontraktmodell fällige Optionsgebühr. Wählbar sind Landea-Modelle mit Mindestpreis und Absicherung gegen fallende Börsenpreise, die in etwa so viel kosten wie eine Einlagerungsgebühr. Kontrakttypen ohne Preisschutz kosten für Weizen nur 3 Euro/Tonne und für Raps lediglich 5 Euro/Tonne, völlig unabhängig der gewählten Laufzeit – selbst wenn sie beispielsweise erst im April des Folgejahres endet. Innerhalb dieser Zeit entscheidet der Landwirt, wann er die gekaufte MATIF-Menge wieder verkauft. Die erzielte Differenz zwischen Verkaufs- und Einkaufsniveau an der Warenterminbörse wird als Ergebnis vergütet.

Vor rund vier Jahren mit wenigen Landea-Kontraktmodellen gestartet, bietet die Landea-Produktfamilie heute für jede Markterwartung und Marktsituation ein breites Sortiment. Entsprechend ist auch die Nachfrage aus der Landwirtschaft gewachsen: Mit den Jahren haben landwirtschaftliche Betriebe diese Vermarktungskonzepte in Kontraktgrößen von 50 Tonnen bis zu mehreren 100 Tonnen genutzt.

Landea: Infos kompakt

  • Mit Landea setzen Sie auf steigende Märkte und optimieren Ihre Vermarktung
  • Landea kann eine gute und sinnvolle Alternative zur Einlagerung sein
  • Landea-Optionsgebühr bereits schon ab 3 Euro/Tonne
  • Mit physischer Lieferung erhalten Sie sofort Liquidität!
  • Ein Vertragspartner für Kassamarkt und börsenbasierte Kontrakte
  • Langjährige Erfahrung, bewährte Kontraktmodelle für sicherheits- und/oder chancenorientierte Anleger
  • Tägliche Transparenz und Aktualität / E-Mail-Report Ihrer Marktwerte
  • Zeitpunkt des Handelns bestimmen weiter Sie
  • Selbst Durchschnittspreismodelle können Sie aktiv optimieren
  • Landea – einfach strukturiert und praxiserprobt in kleinen 50-Tonnen-Schritten
  • Sie benötigen kein Börsenkonto

Standortdaten ändern

Bestimmen Sie hier Ihren Standort. Tragen Sie hierfür lediglich Ihre PLZ sowie die Straße ein.