Sponsoring

This is where the Group gets involved

The AGRAVIS Group is firmly rooted in the region and is consistently being addressed also with regard to sponsoring by clubs, associations and event organisers but also by individuals involved in social, cultural and sports activities. For many years, sponsoring has been an important part of the communication concept of AGRAVIS and will also play an important role in the future. The focus in doing so is on a systematic promotion of projects with agricultural reference in the regions where the AGRAVIS Group is doing business. At the same time, it is primarily necessary to develop the brand awareness in the core target group agriculture, to promote the image and to support the distribution business.

Promotion of young talent and sport

Thus, sponsoring always has a certain value that can be converted into "performance and counterperformance". In addition, AGRAVIS also gets involved in the promotion of young talent – thus purposefully addressing young people as potential employees and raising their awareness for the Group as an attractive, diversified and sound employer.

The following can be cited as examples of current sponsoring activities: the support of elite sport such as the world class equestrian tournaments K+K Cup at the Exhibition and Congress Centre Halle Münsterland and the Winner's Tournament (both in Münster), the AGRAVIS Cup in Oldenburg or the involvement at the third league soccer team SC Preußen Münster. Even at the national garden exhibition AGRAVIS has already been an active sponsor, as well as at various regional activities such as the "Days of Agriculture" and the "Agriculture Horse Racing Day" at the race course in Hanover.

In an interview, Bernd Homann, Manager Corporate Communications, explains why the AGRAVIS Group is involved in sponsoring.

Question: In which areas does AGRAVIS Raiffeisen AG get involved in the field of sponsoring?
Bernd Homann: Sponsoring pursues specific objectives – and like any other business is characterised by "performance and counterperformance". For many years we have been active in the field of sponsoring in our area of operation and as AGRAVIS Group we predominantly support both smaller, local projects which are connected with our core area of operation –- agriculture – as well as overriding topics and events that are important to us or open further opportunities as far as brand awareness or staff marketing is concerned.
The focus is therefore also on the purposeful promotion of young talent. In addition, we are involved in the field of sports, among others with the third league soccer team Preußen Münster as well as with high-class equestrian tournaments.

Question: According to which criteria does AGRAVIS select where sponsoring will take place?
Bernd Homann: We choose the events or clubs, associations, organisations or projects we support very systematically and according to a whole bunch of criteria. These include among others the regional aspect, i.e. the vicinity to our Group or to the regional corporation. In addition, we pay attention that there is an emotional reference between AGRAVIS and the event or funded project, etcetera, etcetera. However, in the end it is important that performance and counterperformance "match".
For us to support equestrian tournaments such as the K+K Cup and the "Winner's Tournament" in Münster suggests itself for both reasons: the venues are very close to our Group Headquarters and apart from the top-ranking athletes, many of our customers are also competing there, that is to say equestrians from the region, whose interest for our "Derby" brand we want to arouse on every occasion. In the case of SC Preußen Münster, the focus is on the targeted promotion of work with up-and-coming talent. Moreover, football is still the most popular sport in Germany - it is down-to-earth, has audience appeal and provides "a topic of debate", thus bringing prominence.
This is also why we are organizing the half-time entertainment at the stadium half-time entertainment at the stadium , theSCP competition SCP competition and the annual AGRAVIS KidsDay, which recently delighted hundreds of up-and-coming football players.

Question: Which projects will the Group support in future?
Bernd Homann: In the field of sponsoring we rely on continuity – this is the only way to raise the level of brand awareness. However, it is also important that the project shows a positive development. Activities in and around agriculture are important to us, but also other events and projects that bring good publicity to position us as prospective employer.

Question: At the end of the day, it's also a matter of money, isn't it?
Bernd Homann: Yes, and our budgets are of course very limited. That is why there are criteria where and how we will become active. Apart from that, many regional sponsoring enquiries are also decided and processed locally, which is the right thing to do, because on the spot it is often easier to rank regional projects.

Sponsoring

So engagiert sich der Konzern

Die AGRAVIS-Gruppe ist regional fest verankert und wird immer wieder auch beim Thema Sponsoring von Vereinen, Verbänden, Veranstaltungsorganisatoren, aber auch Einzelpersonen aus dem sozialen, kulturellen und sportlichen Bereich angesprochen. Sponsoring ist seit vielen Jahren ein wichtiger Teil des Kommunikationskonzeptes der AGRAVIS und spielt auch in Zukunft eine wichtige Rolle. Der Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf einer gezielten Förderung von Projekten mit landwirtschaftlichem Bezug in den Regionen, in denen die AGRAVIS-Gruppe aktiv ist. Dabei gilt es in erster Linie die Bekanntschaft in der Kernzielgruppe Landwirtschaft auszubauen, Image zu fördern und das Vertriebsgeschäft zu unterstützen.

Nachwuchsförderung und Sport

Sponsoring hat also immer einen Wert, der in „Leistung und Gegenleistung“ umgerechnet werden kann. Zusätzlich engagiert sich die AGRAVIS aber auch in Sachen Nachwuchsförderung – also gezielt, um junge Menschen als potentielle Arbeitnehmer anzusprechen und den Konzern dort als attraktiven, abwechslungsreichen und guten Arbeitgeber bekannt zu machen.

Beispielhaft lassen sich aktuelle Sponsoringaktivitäten nennen: die Unterstützung des Spitzensportes wie der Weltklasse-Reitsportturniere K+K Cup im Messe und Congress Centrum Halle Münsterland und das Turnier der Sieger (beide in Münster), den AGRAVIs-Cup in Oldenburg oder das Engagement beim Fußball-Drittligisten SC Preußen Münster. Auch im Bereich der Bundesgartenschau war die AGRAVIS bereits als Sponsor aktiv, ebenso wie bei verschiedenen regionalen Aktivitäten wie den „Tagen der Landwirtschaft“ und dem Landwirtschafts-Renntag auf der Galopprennbahn in Hannover.

Im Interview erklärt Bernd Homann, Leiter der Unternehmenskommunikation, warum sich die AGRAVIS-Gruppe als Sponsor engagiert.

Frage: In welchen Bereichen engagiert sich die AGRAVIS Raiffeisen AG im Sponsoring?
Bernd Homann: Das Sponsoring verfolgt klare Ziele – und ist wie jedes andere Geschäft von „Leistung und Gegenleistung“ geprägt. Wir sind seit vielen Jahren im Bereich Sponsoring in unserem Arbeitsgebiet aktiv und unterstützen als AGRAVIS-Gruppe vorwiegend sowohl kleinere, lokale Projekte, die mit unserem Kernarbeitsgebiet, der Landwirtschaft, zu tun haben – als auch übergeordnete Themen und Veranstaltungen, die uns wichtig sind bzw. die uns in der Bekanntheit oder beim Personalmarketing weitere Möglichkeiten eröffnen.
Im Fokus steht deshalb auch die gezielte Förderung des Nachwuchses. Zusätzlich engagieren wir uns im sportlichen Bereich u. a. für den Fußballdrittligisten Preußen Münster sowie bei hochklassigen Reitsportturnieren.

Frage: Nach welchen Kriterien wählt die AGRAVIS aus, wo ein Sponsoring stattfindet?
Bernd Homann: Wir wählen die Veranstaltungen beziehungsweise Vereine, Verbände, Organisationen oder Projekte, die wir unterstützen, sehr gezielt und nach einem Bündel von Kriterien aus. Dazu zählt u. a. der regionale Aspekt, also die Nähe zu unserem Konzern oder zur regionalen Gesellschaft. Zudem achten wir darauf, dass es einen emotionalen Bezug von der AGRAVIS zur Veranstaltung bzw. dem Förderprojekt gibt, und, und, und. Ganz am Ende ist aber wichtig, dass Leistung und Gegenleistung „passen“.
Dass wir Reitturniere wie den K+K-Cup und das „Turnier der Sieger“ in Münster unterstützen, liegt aus beiden Gründen sehr nah: Die Veranstaltungsorte liegen nahe unserer Konzernzentrale und neben den Spitzensportlern messen sich dort auch viele unserer Kunden, nämlich Reitsportler aus der Region, die wir immer wieder für unsere Marke „Derby“ begeistern wollen. Beim SC Preußen Münster geht es um die gezielte Förderung der Nachwuchsarbeit. Zudem ist Fußball nach wie vor der beliebteste Sport in Deutschland - ist volksnah, publikumswirksam und bietet „Gesprächsstoff“ und bringt damit Bekanntheit.
Deshalb organisieren wir auch die Halbzeitunterhaltung im Stadion Halbzeitunterhaltung im Stadion , das SCP-Gewinnspiel SCP-Gewinnspiel und den jährlichen AGRAVIS KidsDay, für den sich zuletzt hunderte Nachwuchsfußballer und -fußballerinnen begeisterten.

Frage: Welche Projekte wird der Konzern künftig unterstützen?
Bernd Homann: Wir setzen im Bereich des Sponsorings auf Kontinuität – nur so lassen sich Bekanntheitswerte steigern. Wichtig ist aber auch, dass sich das Projekt positiv entwickelt. Aktivitäten in und um die Landwirtschaft sind uns wichtig, aber auch öffentlichkeitswirksame Veranstaltungen und Projekte, um uns als Arbeitgeber zu positionieren.

Frage: Am Ende des Tages geht es aber auch um Geld – oder?
Bernd Homann: Ja, und da sind unsere Budgets natürlich sehr begrenzt. Deshalb gibt es auch Kriterien, wo und wie wir aktiv werden. Daneben werden viele regionale Sponsoringanfragen auch dezentral entschieden und bearbeitet, was auch richtig ist, denn vor Ort kann man regionale Projekte oftmals besser einordnen.