State-of-the-art agricultural machinery for young researchers

AGRAVIS Technik Saltenbrock GmbH is a partner to Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences.

AGRAVIS agricultural machinery for higher education

AGRAVIS Technik Saltenbrock is a partner to Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences.

‘Service is our field’ is the slogan AGRAVIS Technik companies live by. For many years, AGRAVIS Technik Saltenbrock GmbH AGRAVIS Technik Saltenbrock GmbH has been offering a special service to Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences: the company acts as a regional sales partner, supplying the Faculty of Agricultural Sciences and Landscape Architecture with CLAAS or Amazone agricultural machinery which is used at the university’s own Waldhof pilot plant in Wallenhorst and its Haste campus. “We are enabling the university, its lecturers and the agricultural scientists of tomorrow to work with state-of-the-art equipment. As a result, the university is able to teach and research the digitalisation of agriculture to maximum effect,” says Wilhelm Jürgens, Managing Director of AGRAVIS Technik Saltenbrock GmbH along with Heinz-Walter Niedertopp, clearly delighted with the collaboration.

One example would be the CLAAS Arion 420, a key machine in teachingprecision farming precision farming – a major theme for the agricultural faculty. The Arion 420 is a 75 kW, 4.5-litre cylinder capacity tractor with automatic powershift transmission, multi-function grip and a panoramic cabin.

AGRAVIS Technik Saltenbrock GmbH is a partner to Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences

Bernd Westhoff holds a model of the new tractor; the original can be seen behind representatives of Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences and the agricultural machine manufacturer CLAAS. The transfer took place on the grounds of the university’s Waldhof agricultural pilot plant in Wallenhorst. In attendance were (from left) Janina Ostendorf (Corporate Human Resources, CLAAS), Professor Dieter Trautz (Professor of Agricultural Ecology and Eco-friendly Land Management; manager of the Waldhof pilot plant), Bernd Westhoff (CLAAS representative), Professor Hubert Korte (Professor of Agricultural Machinery), Guido Willmann (AGRAVIS Technik Saltenbrock GmbH), Hubert Borchert (Waldhof plant manager) and Dr Martin Leinker (Corporate Product Strategy, CLAAS).

High technical standard required

Professor Dieter Trautz, head of the university's agricultural pilot plants, stressed the significance of using modern machines: “It goes without saying that our courses are more attractive to students if they can work with these machines, and they take these experiences back to their home farms.” It is also essential that employees of the pilot plants are able to use the latest machinery. Not least, many scientists at the university are involved with research into the digitalisation of agriculture at a very practical level. “We must have technological capability to undertake innovative teaching and research,” stressed Korte.

CLAAS and Amazone too

In addition to CLAAS, AGRAVIS Technik Saltenbrock GmbH supports Amazone products for the Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences. “We have been working closely with Amazonen-Werke for many years. During the past year, for instance, we undertook a research project in Siberia using Amazone machinery,” says Professor Dieter Trautz. AGRAVIS Technik Saltenbrock GmbH makes sure the machines are working when students swap the lecture theatre for the seat of an agricultural machine.

Modernste Landtechnik für die Nachwuchs-Forscher

Die AGRAVIS Technik Saltenbrock GmbH ist Partner der Hochschule Osnabrück.

Landmaschinen von AGRAVIS für Hochschule

AGRAVIS Technik Saltenbrock ist Partner der Hochschule Osnabrück

„Service ist unser Feld“, das ist bei den AGRAVIS Technik-Gesellschaften gelebtes Motto. Einen ganz besonderen Service bietet die AGRAVIS Technik Saltenbrock GmbH AGRAVIS Technik Saltenbrock GmbH schon seit vielen Jahren der Hochschule Osnabrück: Sie liefert der Fakultät für Agrarwissenschaften und Landschaftsarchitektur als regionaler Vertriebspartner die landwirtschaftlichen Maschinen von Claas oder Amazone, die auf dem hochschuleigenen Versuchsbetrieb Waldhof in Wallenhorst oder auf dem Campus in Haste eingesetzt werden. „Wir ermöglichen der Hochschule, den Professoren genauso wie den Agrarwissenschaftlern von morgen, mit modernsten Maschinen zu arbeiten und zum Beispiel die Digitalisierung in der Landwirtschaft optimal lehren und erforschen zu können“, freut sich Wilhelm Jürgens, gemeinsam mit Heinz-Walter Niedertopp Geschäftsführer der AGRAVIS Technik Saltenbrock GmbH, über die Kooperation.

Ein Beispiel: der Claas Arion 420, der der grünen Fakultät als „Schlüsselmaschine“ für das große Thema „Precision Farming Precision Farming“ gilt. Bei dem Traktor handelt es sich um das Modell Arion 420 mit 75 KW, 4,5 Liter Hubraum, ausgestattet mit einem automatisierten Lastschaltgetriebe, einem Multifunktionsgriff und einer Panorama-Kabine.

AGRAVIS Technik Saltenbrock GmbH Partner der Hochschule Osnabrück

In der Hand hält Bernd Westhoff ein Modell des neuen Traktors, das Original steht hinter den Vertreterinnen und Vertreter der Hochschule Osnabrück und des Landmaschinenherstellers Claas. Auf dem Gelände des landwirtschaftlichen Versuchsbetriebes Waldhof der Hochschule in Wallenhorst fand die Übergabe statt. Dabei waren (v. li.) Janina Ostendorf (Corporate Human Resources, Claas), Prof. Dr. Dieter Trautz (Professor für Agrarökologie und umweltschonende Landbewirtschaftung; Leiter Versuchsbetrieb Waldhof), Bernd Westhoff (Claas Werkbeauftragter), Prof. Dr. Hubert Korte (Professor für Landtechnik), Guido Willmann (AGRAVIS Technik Saltenbrock GmbH), Hubert Borchert (Betriebsleiter Waldhof) sowie Dr. Martin Leinker (Corporate Product Strategy, Claas).

Hoher technischer Standard notwendig

Prof. Dr. Dieter Trautz, der Leiter der landwirtschaftlichen Versuchsbetriebe der Hochschule, hebt die Bedeutung des Einsatzes moderner Maschinen hervor: „Für unsere Studierenden macht es das Studium natürlich attraktiver, wenn sie mit diesen Maschinen arbeiten können. Und sie nehmen diese Erfahrungen mit in die heimischen Betriebe.“ Auch für Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter der Versuchsbetriebe sei es unerlässlich, den neuesten Stand der Technik anwenden zu können. Und nicht zuletzt befassen sich an der Hochschule zahlreiche Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler in Forschungsprojekten mit der Digitalisierung in der Landwirtschaft und arbeiten dabei sehr praxisorientiert. „Wir müssen den technischen Standard haben, um in Lehre und Forschung innovativ arbeiten zu können“, betonte Korte.

Neben Claas auch Amazone

Neben Claas betreut die AGRAVIS Technik Saltenbrock GmbH für die Hochschule Osnabrück auch Produkte von Amazone. „Wir arbeiten seit vielen Jahren eng mit den Amazonen-Werken zusammen und haben zum Beispiel im letzten Jahr ein Forschungsprojekt in Sibirien mit Maschinen von Amazone abgeschlossen“, so Prof. Dr. Dieter Trautz. Dass die Maschinen laufen, wenn die Studenten den Stuhl im Hörsaal gegen den Sitz eines landtechnischen Gerätes tauschen, dafür sorgt die AGRAVIS Technik Saltenbrock GmbH.