NetFarming: solutions to increase yield

Site-specific maize sowing can increase yield by as much as 10 percent compared to standard sowing.

Site-specific maize sowing increases yield by 10 percent

High mass yields and good quality while avoiding strain on the nutrient balance. Reconciling these wishes expressed by maize farmers is not always easy – but it is possible. AGRAVIS NetFarming GmbH AGRAVIS NetFarming GmbH, which pools the Landwirtschaft 4.0 concepts of AGRAVIS Raiffeisen AG, also offers maize farmers the chance to increase yield by up to 10 percent through site-specific maize sowing compared to standard sowing.

Influencing and generating yield

Selecting a variety that is suitable for the intended use and location lays the foundation for a good yield. With well-thought-out crop management, it is also possible to positively influence other key factors affecting yield. Much yield is lost due to ‘incorrect’ choices of sowing density, i.e. one that is not suited to the location. AGRAVIS Raiffeisen AG has been carrying out precise experiments on the crop density of maize since 2014. Based on the findings from these experiments, AGRAVIS NetFarming GmbH has developed a practical system to calculate the optimum crop density and link this to site-specific approaches.

NetFarming sowing map for site-specific maize sowing Linking optimum crop density to site-specific approaches

Remote sensing data gathered over several years has been evaluated in order to identify different yield zones at field level. Combined with data concerning the availability of water for maize sowing, the water retaining capacity of the location and an assessment of expected precipitation, a sowing map can be created on the NetFarming portal.

Observing variety-specific properties

Properties that are specific to the variety are also taken into account in the process, as these can represent enormous differences. The Niklas variety, for example, is more suited to higher sowing densities than the DKC 3507 variety. In practice, therefore, the recommended sowing densities can vary between 5.4 and 12 plants per square metre within very heterogeneous areas. Experiments have shown that this process can increase yield by up to 10 percent compared to standard sowing. Improved values have also been identified in several quality parameters.

NetFarming: Lösungen zur Ertragssteigerung

Durch teilflächenspezifische Maisaussaat lassen sich Mehrerträge von bis zu zehn Prozent im Vergleich zur betriebsüblichen Aussaat erzielen.

Teilflächenspezifische Maisausssaat bringt Plus von 10 Prozent

Hohe Masseerträge, gute Qualitäten und gleichzeitig die Nährstoffbilanz nicht strapazieren. Diese Wünsche eines Maisanbauers unter einen Hut zu bekommen, ist nicht immer einfach – aber möglich. Die AGRAVIS NetFarming GmbH AGRAVIS NetFarming GmbH, in der die AGRAVIS Raiffeisen AG ihre Konzepte für die Landwirtschaft 4.0 bündelt, bietet Maisanbauern außerdem die Chance, durch die teilflächenspezifische Maisaussaat Mehrerträge von bis zu zehn Prozent im Vergleich zur betriebsüblichen Aussaat zu erzielen.

Gute Erträge erzielen und positiv beeinflussen

Die nutzungs- und standortangepasste Sortenwahl legt den Grundstein für den Ertrag. Mit einer gut durchdachten Bestandesführung können zusätzlich für den Ertrag weitere wichtige Faktoren positiv beeinflusst werden. Viel Ertrag wird schon durch die nicht standortangepasste („falsche“) Wahl der Aussaatstärke verschenkt. Seit 2014 führt die AGRAVIS Raiffeisen AG Exaktversuche zur Bestandesdichte im Mais durch. Auf Basis der daraus gewonnenen Erkenntnisse hat die AGRAVIS NetFarming GmbH ein praxistaugliches System entwickelt, um die optimale Bestandesdichte zu ermitteln und mit teilflächenspezifischen Ansätzen zu verknüpfen.

Aussaatkarte NetFarming teilflächenspezifische Maisaussaat Optimale Bestandsdichte mit teilflächenspezifischen Ansätzen verknüpfen

Dazu werden Fernerkundungsdaten mehrerer Jahre ausgewertet, um auf Schlagebene unterschiedliche Ertragszonen zu identifizieren. Kombiniert mit dem Wissen über die Wasserverfügbarkeit zur Maisausaat, Wasserhaltefähigkeit des Standortes sowie Abschätzung der zu erwartenden Niederschlagsmenge kann eine Aussaatkarte auf dem NetFarming-Portal erstellt werden.

Beachtung sortenspezifischer Eigenschaften

In diesen Prozess fließen außerdem sortenspezifische Eigenschaften ein. Denn hier bestehen mitunter große Unterschiede. Die Sorte Niklas zum Beispiel ist eher für höhere Saatstärken geeignet als die Sorte DKC 3507. In der Praxis können daher innerhalb sehr heterogener Flächen die empfohlenen Aussaatstärken zwischen 5,4 und 12 Pflanzen pro Quadratmeter variieren. Die Versuche zeigen, dass durch dieses Verfahren Mehrerträge bis zu 10 Prozent im Vergleich zur betriebsüblichen Aussaat möglich sind. Darüber hinaus konnten verbesserte Werte in mehreren Qualitätsparametern festgestellt werden.