Other seeds




In this section you find information regarding types of fruit with, depending on the region, often of mere secondary importance within the seed trade. Nonetheless, fruits such as beets, clover, alfalfa, sorghum and sunflowers are an important and essential component in agriculture due to their usage as main fruit or as a component in mixtures such as "PremiumSaat"-, "topsoil"- and "gameland" mixtures.

  • Clover (trifolium)

    Clover comes in many different varieties and are often used in crop cultivation due to their high component of digestible protein. Particularly white clover is cultivated together with grasses in grazing mixtures, which significantly improves the nutrition content of the feed.

    Seed quantity: 25-30 kg/ha (white clover 8-12 kg/ha)

    Sowing time: March - May (main fruit)

    Seed depth: 10-20 mm

    Row distance: 12-15 cm

  • Alfalfa (medicago sativa)

    Due to a high mass yield in connection with a large component of protein, Alfalfa is excellently suited for feed crop cultivation. Just as other legumes it also provides the advantage of transferring air-nitrogen into a plant-available form due to nodule bacteria living on the root.

    Seed quantity: approx. 20-30 kg/ha

    Sowing time: March - May (main fruit)

    Seed depth: 10-20 mm

    Row distance: 12-15 cm

  • Beets (beta)

    The most common types of beet are the autumn beet, the fodder beet and the sugar beet. Despite a certain susceptibility for diseases and corresponding requirements for the soil and the crop rotation, beets are of a major economic significance in the sugar production as well as the feed and vegetable sector.

    Seed quantity: Normal seed 15-20 kg/ha (pill seed 3-6 EH/ha)

    Sowing time: March to April (autumn beets July-August)

    Seed depth: 20-30 mm

    Row distance: approx. 40-50 cm

  • Turnips (brassica rapa)

    Winter turnips are one the classic types for the production of catch crop feed and are utilised similarly to winter feed rape. However, they tolerate late sowing more easily than rape and have lesser demands on the location. Turnips can also be used as summer catch crop, whereby the usage as winter catch crop provides more advantages.

    Seed quantity: 10-15 kg/ha (winter turnip)

    Sowing time: July - September

    Seed depth: 20-30 mm

    Row distance: 15-25 cm

  • Sorghum (sorghum)

    Sorghum is still a very young fruit variety in Germany. Even though the original cultivation served the sugar production, today, sorghum is increasingly more important in the feed industry and the energy generation industry by biogas. High mass yields and the dry-tolerance make sorghum interesting for agriculture.

    Seed quantity: 15-25 kg/ha

    Sowing time: May (main fruit)

    Seed depth: 30-50 mm

    Row distance: 30-50 cm

  • Sunflowers (helianthus annuus)

    Next to their usage as an oil plant, sunflowers are also utilised as ornamental plants as well as in the feed and food industry. Due to this versatility, sunflowers have a major economic role despite a relatively minor cultivation area in Germany.

    Seed quantity: 20-30 kg/ha

    Sowing time: April

    Seed depth: 40-60 mm

    Row distance: 50-70 cm

Sonstige Saaten




In dieser Rubrik finden Sie Informationen zu Fruchtarten, die innerhalb des Saatgutgeschäftes, je nach Region oftmals nur eine zweitrangige Bedeutung haben. Trotzdem sind zum Beispiel Rüben, Klee, Luzerne, Sorghum und Sonnenblumen durch die Verwendung als Hauptfrucht oder als Bestandteil in Mischungen, wie "PremiumSaat"-, "topsoil"- und "Wildacker-Mischungen", ein wichtiger und unverzichtbarer Bestandteil für die Landwirtschaft.

  • Klee (trifolium)

    Klee gibt es in vielen Arten und diese werden durch den hohen Anteil an verdaulichem Eiweiß oft im Futteranbau eingesetzt. Vor allem Weißklee wird zusammen mit Gräsern in Weidemischungen angebaut, wodurch der Nährstoffgehalt des Futters deutlich verbessert wird.

    Aussaatmenge: 25-30 kg/ha (Weißklee 8-12 kg/hg)

    Aussaatzeit: März-Mai (Hauptfrucht)

    Aussaattiefe: 10-20 mm

    Reihenabstand: 12-15 cm

  • Luzerne (medicago sativa)

    Luzerne eignet sich durch einen hohen Masseertrag in Verbindung mit einem großen Eiweißanteil hervorragend für den Futterbau. Wie andere Leguminosen auch, bietet sie zusätzlich den Vorteil, durch an der Wurzel lebende Knöllchenbakterien, Luftstickstoff in pflanzenverfügbare Form umzuwandeln.

    Aussaatmenge: ca. 20-30 kg/ha

    Aussaatzeit: März-Mai (Hauptfrucht)

    Aussaattiefe: 10-20 mm

    Reihenabstand: 12-15 cm

  • Rüben (beta)

    Die bekanntesten Rübenarten sind die Herbstrüben, die Futterrüben und die Zuckerrüben. Trotz einer gewissen Anfälligkeit für Krankheiten und entsprechenden Anforderungen an den Boden und der Fruchtfolge, haben Rüben eine große wirtschaftliche Bedeutung im Bereich der Zuckergewinnung sowie als Futter- und Gemüsepflanze.

    Aussaatmenge: Normalsaatgut 15-20 kg/ha (Pillensaatgut 3-6 EH/ha)

    Aussaatzeit: März-April (Herbstrüben Juli-August)

    Aussaattiefe: 20-30 mm

    Reihenabstand: ca. 40-50 cm

  • Rübsen (brassica rapa)

    Winterrübsen sind eine der klassischen Arten für die Gewinnung von Zwischenfruchtfutter und werden ähnlich genutzt wie Winterfutterraps. Sie sind jedoch spätsaatverträglicher als Raps und stellen geringere Ansprüche an den Standort. Rübsen können ebenfalls als Sommerzwischenfrucht eingesetzt werden, wobei die Nutzung als Winterzwischenfrucht mehr Vorteile bietet.

    Aussaatmenge: 10-15 kg/ha (Winterrübse)

    Aussaatzeit: Juli-September

    Aussaattiefe: 20-30 mm

    Reihenabstand: 15-25 cm

  • Sorghum (sorghum)

    Sorghum ist in Deutschland noch eine sehr junge Fruchtart. Obwohl die ursprüngliche Züchtung der Zuckergewinnung diente, so hat Sorghum heute einen immer größer werdenden Stellenwert in der Futterindustrie und der Energiegewinnung durch Biogas. Hohe Masseerträge und die Trockentoleranz machen Sorgum für die Landwirtschaft interessant.

    Aussaatmenge: 15-25 kg/ha

    Aussaatzeit: Mai (Hauptfrucht)

    Aussaattiefe: 30-50 mm

    Reihenabstand: 30-50 cm

  • Sonnenblumen (helianthus annuus)

    Sonnenblumen werden neben der Nutzung als Ölpflanze auch als Zierpflanzen sowie in der Futter- und Lebensmittelindustrie verwendet. Aufgrund dieser Vielseitigkeit haben Sonnenblumen trotz einer relativ geringen Anbaufläche in Deutschland, eine große wirtschaftliche Bedeutung.

    Aussaatmenge: 20-30 kg/ha (Grünnutzung)

    Aussaatzeit: April

    Aussaattiefe: 40-60 mm

    Reihenabstand: 50-70 cm