E10 - more bio-fuel in petrol

What you must bear in mind. On this page, you will be given valuable tips for using the new fuel E10.

Questions and answers about the new fuel E10

What does the abbreviation "E10" stand for?
"E" stands for ethanol or the bioethanol content of a fuel. The number "10" stands for the percentage of these components. Bioethanol is obtained from plants that are grown on an environmentally-friendly basis.

Why does E10 exist?
In Germany, an EU guideline is implemented, according to which the bio-fuel content, across all types of fuel, is to rise to ten per cent by 2020 and make a contribution to the reduction of CO2 emissions. In parallel to this, statutory compulsory certification for sustainable bio-fuels is to come into effect from next year. The aim of this is that only sustainably produced bio-components will continue to be used.

Who can fill up with E10?
About 90% of all cars fuelled by petrol take E10, according to the Federal Ministry for the Environment. New vehicles are generally suitable for E10.

You can find out whether your vehicle takes E10 from your vehicle manufacturer. You can also find a list of E10-compatible vehicles on the website of Deutsche Autombil Treuhand GmbH at www.dat.de www.dat.de . Before filling your vehicle up with E10 for the first time, you must make sure that it takes E10.

Why don't all vehicles take E10?
Ethanol has different chemical properties to petrol. This may, especially in mixtures with fuel, have an impact on sealing compounds (elastomers) and the metal components used in the fuel system. Studies have shown than ethanol can corrode aluminium. This may lead to leakages in the fuel system, with the risk that fuel leaking on hot parts (turbo charger, exhaust pipe etc.) will ignite, causing serious damage.

What consequences does misfuelling in unsuitable vehicles have?
Studies have shown that, in unfavourable conditions, damage cannot be ruled out in the case of a one-off misfuelling. In such cases, there may be leakages in the fuel system, which may, in an extreme case, even lead to the risk of a vehicle fire. In the event of misfuelling with E10, it is imperative that the vehicle is transported to a garage and the unsuitable fuel pumped out.

Is E10 also imported to other countries in Europe?
As things currently stand, no other EU country, apart from Germany and France, is planning to import E10. The other countries will probably wait for the amendment to the European Standard EN228. This is to be passed in the first quarter of 2012.

Is something also changing in the admixture of bio-components in diesel fuels?
No, nothing is changing here.

Fuel contacts

For further information, please get in touch with your contacts

Münster area:
Reinhard Buxtrup
AdBlue and fuel sales
Phone: 0251-682-2334
Fax: 0251-682-2534
Contact Contact

Hanover area:
Jürgen Woyth
AdBlue and fuel sales
Tel.: 0511-8075-3539
Fax: 0511-8075-3589
Contact Contact

E10 brochure

E10 - Mehr Bio im Benzin

Worauf Sie achten müssen. Auf dieser Seite erhalten Sie wertvolle Tipps zur Verwendung des neuen Kraftstoff E10.

Fragen und Antworten zum neuen Kraftstoff E10

Wofür steht die Abkürzung „E10“?
„E“ steht für Ethanol bzw. den Bioethanol-Anteil eines Ottokraftstoffs. Die Zahl „10“ steht für den prozentualen Anteil dieser Komponente. Bioethanol wird aus Pflanzen gewonnen, die umweltverträglich angebaut werden.

Warum gibt es E10?
Damit wird in Deutschland eine EU-Vorgabe umgesetzt, nach der der Bioanteil über alle Kraftstoffsorten hinweg bis 2020 auf zehn Prozent steigen und einen Beitrag zur Reduzierung der CO2-Emissionen leisten soll. Parallel dazu tritt ab dem nächsten Jahr die gesetzliche Zertifizierungspflicht für nachhaltige Biokraftstoffe in Kraft. Ihr Ziel ist es, dass nur noch Biokomponenten aus nachhaltigem Anbau verwendet werden.

Wer kann E10 tanken?
E10 vertragen laut Bundesministerium für Umwelt etwa 90 Prozent aller mit Ottokraftstoff betriebenen PKW. Neufahrzeuge sind in der Regel E10-tauglich.

Ob Ihr Fahrzeug E10 verträgt, erfahren Sie von Ihrem Fahrzeughersteller. Eine Liste E10-verträglicher Fahrzeuge finden Sie auch auf der Internetseite der Deutschen Automobil Treuhand GmbH unter www.dat.de www.dat.de . Sie sollten sich unbedingt vor dem ersten Betanken mit E10 vergewissern, ob Ihr Fahrzeug E10 verträgt.

Warum vertragen nicht alle Fahrzeuge E10?
Ethanol weist andere chemische Eigenschaften auf als Ottokraftstoff. Dies kann, insbesondere in Mischungen mit Kraftstoff, Auswirkungen auf Dichtungsmaterialien (Elastomere) und die im Kraftstoffsystem verwendeten Metallbauteile haben. Untersuchungen haben gezeigt, dass Ethanol Aluminium korrodieren kann. Dies kann zu Undichtigkeiten im Kraftstoffsystem führen, mit der Gefahr, dass sich auslaufender Kraftstoff an heißen Bauteilen (Turbolader, Auspuff etc.) entzündet und starke Schäden entstehen.

Welche Folgen hat eine Fehlbetankung in nicht geeigneten Fahrzeugen?
Es liegen Untersuchungsergebnisse vor, wonach bei ungünstigen Bedingungen bereits Schäden bei einer einmaligen Fehlbetankung nicht ausgeschlossen werden können. In solchen Fällen kann es zu Undichtigkeiten des Kraftstoffsystems kommen, bei denen im Extremfall sogar die Gefahr eines Fahrzeugbrandes besteht. Bei einer Fehlbetankung mit E10 ist ein Transport des Fahrzeuges in eine Werkstatt und das Auspumpen des ungeeigneten Kraftstoffes unumgänglich.

Wird E10 auch im europäischen Ausland eingeführt?
Nach derzeitigem Stand plant kein anderes EU Land, außer Deutschland und Frankreich, E10 einzuführen. Wahrscheinlich werden die anderen Länder auf die Änderung der Europäischen Norm EN228 warten. Diese soll etwa im 1. Quartal 2012 verabschiedet werden.

Ändert sich auch bei der Beimischung von Biokomponenten in Dieselkraftstoffen etwas?
Nein, hier ändert sich nichts.

Ansprechpartner Kraftstoffe

Für nähere Informationen wenden Sie sich bitte an Ihre Ansprechpartner

Gebiet Münster:
Reinhard Buxtrup
Verkauf AdBlue, Brenn- und Kraftstoffe
Telefon: 0251-682-2334
Telefax: 0251-682-2534
Kontakt Kontakt

Gebiet Hannover:
Jürgen Woyth
Verkauf AdBlue, Brenn- und Kraftstoffe
Tel.: 0511-8075-3539
Fax: 0511-8075-3589
Kontakt Kontakt

E 10 Broschüre